Alarm Permit Requirements

California City Permit Information

Some California cities require home and business owners to obtain a valid alarm permit for monitored alarm systems.

Below is a list of cities that do require such permits (usually $20-$40/year), arranged alphabetically by county. Click your city to learn more about local requirements.

Please note: If you cannot find your city below, it means that a permit was not required at the time we published this list. However, we strongly advise that you check with your local police department to confirm permit requirements, as they are subject to change and you could face a penalty or fee for false alarms if you do not hold a permit in cities that require them.

Alameda County

Amador County

Contra Costa County

El Dorado County

Kern County

Los Angeles County

Marin County

Monterey County

Napa County

Orange County

Placer County

Riverside County

Sacramento County

San Bernadino County

San Diego County

San Fernando Valley

San Francisco County

San Joaquin County

San Mateo County

Santa Clara County

Santa Cruz County

Solano County

SoNoma County

Stanislaus County

Sutter County

Ventura County

Yolo County

Yuba County